It’s our most visible feature and, for many, the most problematic.
But a simplified skincare routine, covering everything from cleansing to anti-aging, can help banish blemishes and fine lines and make dream skin a reality.


Step 1: Cleansing

Cleansing should be done twice daily, using a gentle, fragrance-free cleanser.
Always use your hands instead of a washcloth.
Skin shouldn’t be “squeaky clean” but should have some natural oils left behind.
Step 2: ToningA good toner will remove any excess dirt or makeup left behind by your cleanser—the proof is in the cotton pad. It’s also a step too many women skip in their skincare routine.
Regular use will refine and minimize pores and make skin feel fresh.
Step 3: MoisturizingNext to staying out of the sun, moisturizing is the best step towards keeping skin looking young.
If you don’t have problem skin use a lightweight moisturizer.In fall or winter, you might want to switch over to something a little more substantial, but for the summer something light is best.Moisturizer should be applied twice a day.
Invest in some good products, i can suggest Dermalogica and Decleor which i use myself and on my clients and always good results.

Decleor Cleansing Milk and Tonifying Lotion

Having to be trained by Decleor Skin Care this product review not only comes from the client but myself too.

I have lost count of the amount of times I have repurchased these two, so I thought it was about time I reviewed them on my blog. The Cleansing Milk and Tonifying Lotion are two of Decleor’s best selling products and I have used them as my main cleanser and toner for nearly 9 years.
I first started using Decleor when i became a stockist at my salon. As i was trained by Decleor i started to become more and more familiar with the products and fell in love with nearly all the products. cleanser and toner couldn’t be further from this; they’re both so gentle they’re perfect for all skin types, even the most sensitive of skins.  They’re both packed full of essential oils and essential waters that your skin welcomes with each use.
The Decleor Cleansing Milk is an incredibly light, milky cleanser that is lightly fragranced with essential oils, of which lavender can be particularly noted.  The cleansing milk does remove most makeup and dirt from my face however if I have a full face of heavy makeup then I will take of my makeup with baby wipes and then deeply cleanse with the cleansing milk and toner. 
To apply it, I dampen a couple of cotton wool pads slightly with some water so that they’re damp, not soaking and I then squirt some of cleansing milk on the cotton pad before gently wiping it over my face and neck.  Dampening the cotton pad, means the cleansing milk isn’t as easily absorbed so you end up using less product.
Bottle 250ml
£20.00
I always use the Decleor Tonifying Lotion hand in hand with the Cleansing Milk as they are the perfect accompaniment to one another.  The toner is alcohol free so it isn’t harsh on my skin and it still does a fantastic job of removing any remaining oil, makeup and dirt from my face left over after cleansing.  The Decleor Tonifying lotion leaves my skin smooth and oil free, but not dry, and prepared for the application of further skincare products.  To apply, I simply soak it into a cotton pad and sweep over my face  and neck.
If you’ve had bad experiences with other cleansers and toners, if you’re looking for something natural and gentle or if you’ve got sensitive skin then I would highly recommend the Decleor Cleansing Milk and Tonifying Lotion.
Bottle 250ml
£20.00

 

Bdellium makeup brushes review

I got these Bdellium brushes from The IMATS this year, What really drew me to them was their yellow brushes nicely presented in there cases.  Let me tell you as soon as I saw those yellow handles I immediately went over to the booth.  I am so happy that I did because here I am after all of these years of being a Makeup Artist, finally LOVING the tools that I am working with. You can check out their website on  www.bdelliumtools.com 

Secret Weapon: MAC Matte

I have had this incredible mattifying gel in my kit for a while now, and it’s what I rely on for clients with oily skin. It’s the best product I’ve ever used for eliminating shine (and believe me, I’ve tried a few). It’s a clear gel in a small tube that you pat onto the skin either over moisturizer or instead of (for very oily clients) through the T-zone. Voila! No more shine.

It’s a must have for makeup artists for male grooming as well. For women it’s great to throw in your handbag for those hot summer afternoons when your forehead looks like a disco ball. Foundation then goes on like a dream as this primer seals the surface without looking fake or heavy, and it means you can use a lot less powder. No more afternoon cake face! http://www.maccosmetics.com

If you have any questions you can comment below, tweet me, or email me!

